What Is Farro?
Farro (pronounced FAHR-oh) is a nutritious and delicious addition to your diet. Farro is high in fiber, low in cholesterol, and a rich source of vitamins and minerals. Farro is also low in gluten which makes farro a favorable choice for those with allergies. Farro is an ancient grain having originated in the Mediterranean and Near East. It seems to be the world’s oldest cultivated grain, from which all modern grains are derived.
Farro seems to be taking over menus at every stage of the meal — soups, salads, mains, and even desserts. But what exactly is farro? Often used as a substitute for pasta or rice, farro is a grain with a nutty flavor similar to brown rice. It is rich in fiber, magnesium and vitamins A, B, C, and E. Farro may seem trendy, but it’s actually ancient. It was first domesticated 10,000 years ago in the Fertile Crescent, has been found in Egyptian tombs, and is believed to have sustained the Roman legions.
Today, farro grows in the central and northern Italian regions including Lazio, Umbria, and Tuscany. Historically, these were impoverished areas, and the longevity of its people is sometimes attributed to farro.True farro is Triticum dicoccum, also known as emmer. Its husk has two spikes. A similar plant, Triticum monococcum, has only one spike and is also called faricella, or “little farro.” This has caused widespread confusion, leading Farro di Monteleone di Spoleto to seek the designation of the European Union’s Protected Designation of Origin, similar to true Champagne from the Champagne region of France. Adding to the confusion is Triticum spelta, or spelt. Though spelt looks similar, it is an entirely different grain and should not be used interchangeably with farro. The same mistake applies to barley; these “fake farro” grains act differently and are not suitable substitutions. Check our Organic Farro products Imported Direct from Italy.